Living Income Guaranteed: God Will Fix It…Won’t He?

god 2
godWhen I accept the idea of a ‘God’, assuming this is an all powerful, loving , creator, I put myself in a position that is ‘smaller’, ‘less powerful’. I assume there is something, some being that ‘made’ me for a reason and I can only ‘hope’ there is a benevolent reason for my existence.   ‘Hope’ in itself is not empowering and I wait, walk…err…stumble blindly along life’s path with only faith (interesting hope and faith both also ‘ideas’ in my mind) trying to do what is ‘right’ (hard to say what right is, as it is different according to your experience) until the day I die so I may enter the kingdom of this ‘leader’. Hmmm…not much to grab hold of there but it’s all I got.

If I accept the idea of ‘God’ I separate myself -as one person trying to do what I conjure is ‘right’-from my fellow human beings, the animal kingdom and nature. I live an existence based largely, if not solely, upon self interest because I am in fact in my head-my mind with beliefs based on fear of survival, endless wants and desires that direct and control me. I accept the notion that there is a ‘right’ path and a ‘wrong’ path for me and he=God ain’t gonna tell me which way to go. I  buy into the notion of ‘signs’, ‘a calling’, ‘answered prayers’, that I now understand to be all thoughts, feelings, dreams- from my own mind!

I am taught and ‘feel’ compelled to go to university, get married, have children, have the same ‘faith’ as my parents, go to the cottage like my parents, buy a home like my parents, have the same values more or less as my parents. I am plagued with guilt, worry, shame, fear, fear, fear…like my father , told to be grateful but it’s good to want and get more, more, more…don’t question the big stuff like where I came from and where I’m going beyond this life, ‘we told you, God made you, God loves you, so be a good little unit, just make money, shop, watch tv and keep quiet for god’s sake!’

What do I allow? When the belief in God is accepted I allow everything and everyone else-save my immediate family and few friends and pets-to sink or swim on their own. Hey, I gotta enough problems trying to survive. I allow the ‘survival of the fittest’ approach to life.

The consequences of this are enormous. Just considering my own little life, then times that by about 7 billion. Everyday is consumed in self interest; how do I get enough money for me, my family, if I have enough money-how do I get more!  OMG what is this on my body, i’m gonna die!, how do I save me?, how do I save for the future, how do I remain youthful, how do I loose this weight?, how do I compete with other women so I don’t loose the main breadwinner in the house?, how do I get better abs, tight butt?, afford to get my hair highlighted, get a new car-mine is getting old, go down south-need to save for that , get that new tv-please God , help me  earn more so I can by the new ipad. Need I say more, it goes on and on. Oh yes, give a dollar to the guy on the street and some at Christmas-’tis the season for giving afterall. Gives you a nice warm feeling, doesn’t it?

So, one consequence; I turn a blind eye to the suffering of millions of people who are starving, who have no clean water, who have no education, who have little or no hope of a better tomorrow . Me and about 5 billion others do this . We are obsessed/possessed by the mind, we are focused inward with god/spirituality/one religion or another and not dealing with what is here in the physical in a practical and logical/mathematical  way.

Speaking of mathematics, I have on several occasions ‘joked’ with my family that if only everyone in the world-not those in the 3rd world-gave me $1.00 that would be enough, I’d be rich and content and it wouldn’t hurt them one bit! They all laugh and agree I’m a little ‘crazy’. Well, what of it? How about it? It makes mathematical sense? Of course not that exactly, but a new way, a way that is based on what is best for all.

Btw, what’s up with all this 3rd world/1st world jargon?  You never hear much about the 2nd world, where the heck is the 2nd world?  It is hip today to joke about something as being a ‘1st world problem’ like ‘Omg, I don’t have enough money to get my nails done’ but then, to your consternation, you notice the old man living on the sidewalk you just passed by.  So you quickly redeem yourself by glibly admitting, with a sly sideways glance to your bff like ‘thank god that isn’t me/god blessed me but not that poor sod’,  but you keep that in your secret mind and out loud you laugh, ‘oh well, that’s definitely a 1st world problem, I shouldn’t complain about my nails, ha ha.’

This is not a judgement, I am guilty just as you.  Point is, we need to stop the abuse here on this very real earth, get out of our mind of faith and hope in a god who will fix things or make things better in our idea of a personal heaven, when we die.  Seeing it in print clearly shows how ridiculous waiting really is.  We’ve waited long enough, nothing happened, no savior has come, the world’s problems have only escalated.  Time to become our own saviors.

That way is a Living Income Guaranteed.  Investigate the Living Income Guaranteed Proposal and Join us for discussion.

Investigate the Equal Life Foundation and the proposal for a Living Income Guaranteed where all are sufficiently supported and honored with their basic human rights – where they have the ability to provide themselves with food, water, shelter, education, health care – all things one would like for themselves and would be living a standard less than what is best for them without such things.

Investigate your world, educate yourself about what you consume. Become part of a solution and no longer be blind to how we have come to accept and allow as the design of our world –  let us be the ones to re-design it into what is best for all.

https://www.facebook.com/EqualLifeFoundation/info
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eT8Sfq-pF3Y

 

 

Leave a Reply

